American Sportfishing Association Elects 2023 Board Members


Four members of the American Sportfishing Association (ASA) were elected to fill two At-Large seats and two regional seats on its Board of Directors. Their three-year terms begin October 1, 2022.

The ASA has six regions: West, Centre-South, Great Lakes, South-East, North-East, Northern Plains and Inter-mountains. Each member company or organization is assigned to the region where that member’s main activity is located.

Elected to At-Large Board Seats:

  • Ken Eubanks, CEO, Rather Outdoors
  • Daniel Nussbaum, President, Z-Man Fishing Products, Inc.

Elected to the seats of the regional council:

  • Todd Hammill, CEO, Wired2Fish, Northern Plains and Inter-mountain
  • Mike Powell, General Manager, Mason Tackle, Great Lakes

“I congratulate Ken Eubanks, Todd Hammill, Daniel Nussbaum and Mike Powell on their elections and welcome them to their first terms on the Board,” said ASA President Glenn Hughes. They are dynamic leaders, industry veterans and staunch advocates for our industry and our association. I look forward to working with them and thank the entire Board of Directors for their time and service to the industry and the recreational fishing community as a whole.

ASA also welcomed Bruce Stanton, vice president and general manager of Pradco Fishing, to the board, replacing Larry Roberts, who recently left Academy Sports to pursue other interests. Stanton had previously served on the board of ASA.

  • Ken Eubanks, CEO, Rather Outdoors (owner of Lew’s, Strike King and Zebco, among other brands). Eubanks previously worked for Pure Fishing as Senior Vice President/General Manager, North America, and ex-officio board member.
  • Todd Hammill, CEO of Wired2Fish, Inc., has served on ASA’s Finance and Market Insights committees.
  • Daniel Nussbaum, President of Z-Man Fishing Products, Inc., serves on the Trade Show, Market Information and Marketing Committees.
  • Mike Powell, GM, Mason Tackle, Ed Cumings and Fishing Tackle Grab Bag is the third generation of his family’s tackle businesses. He has served on the Trade Show and Market Insights committees.

Current members of the Executive Committee of the ASA Board of Directors include:

  • Jesse Simpkins, St. Croix Rod, president; Phil Lillo, Don Coffey Company, vice president; Dan Ferris, Midwest Outdoors, secretary; Dan McDonald, Yakima Bait Company, Treasurer; Patrick Gill, TackleDirect, At-Large; and Chris Megan, On The Water, LLC, Past President.

Council members include:

  • Diane Bristol, Simms Fishing Products; Dave Bulthuis, Pure Fishing, Inc.; Charlie Davis, Synergy Plano; Peter Foley, Boone Bait Company, Inc.; Carey Graves, Daiwa USA; Kenneth Hammond, The Hammond Group; Frank Hugelmeyer, National Seafood Manufacturers Association; Kirk Immens, Sportco Marketing, Inc.; Mike Jackson, Wright & McGill Company; Matt Jensen, Rapala USA; Dave Pfeiffer, Shimano North American Fishing, Inc.; Casey Shedd, AFTCO Manufacturing, Inc.; Bruce Stanton, PRADCO Fisheries; and Eric Sutton, Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.


Comments are closed.